Back to the Frontiersman Directory
PDF Version of This Issue With Links
PDF Version of This Issue to Print
15x15 White Space GIF Image
Eagle 3
Frontiersman, November 2018
Soul Survivor
Sam Aurelius Milam III
15x5 Page Background GIF ImageFrom November of 1972 until April of 1982, I worked as a nuclear engineer at the General Electric Company, in San Jose, California.  I made the daily commute on the infamous Highway 101.  By the way, that's a zero, not an oh.  It isn't Highway One-Oh-One.  It's Highway One-Zero-One.  I usually made the daily commute in my 1961 Plymouth station wagon or my 1961 Volkswagen sedan.  Sometimes, I made the trip on my motorcycle, a Honda 175.  I don't remember its year of manufacture.
15x5 Page Background GIF ImageOne afternoon, I was headed home in the northbound fast lane of Highway 101, on the motorcycle.  There was a location on that stretch of the highway where Interstate 280/680 went over the highway.  The interstate, at that location, was maybe about five lanes wide, in each direction.  I don't remember exactly, but going under it was more like going through a tunnel than like going under a bridge.  At that time, there was some construction being done, so the effective size of the central strip of the Highway 101 median, under the interstate, was reduced by some large concrete barriers.  The amount of space remaining for the left shoulder, between the concrete barriers and the fast lane was, as I recall, a strip of asphalt that was only about 6 feet wide.
15x5 Page Background GIF ImageAs I was approaching the bridge, I heard my motorcycle make a little popping noise.  Poppa taught us to always pay attention to the noises that our vehicles make, so, when I heard the noise, I immediately decided to shift lanes to the right, get off of the highway, and figure out what was making the noise.  However, before I even had time to check my mirrors for the lane change, it was too late.