PDF Version of This Issue With Links
PDF Version of This Issue to Print
Insert
15x15 White Space GIF Image
Eagle 3
Frontiersman, February 2016
Some Good Ideas
Sam Aurelius Milam III
15x5 Page Background GIF ImageThis month, I'll be 72 years old.  I've been engaged in my pursuit of liberty for close to 50 years.  It's difficult to know exactly when that pursuit began.  It was gradual and it was a long time ago.  My essays, which I began writing sometime during the 1980's, have been a big part of that pursuit.  I've been publishing this newsletter for almost 25 years.  I know when that started.  The first issue was in January of 1994.  Some of the ideas that I've presented in my writing are as important as any ideas that have ever been presented, anywhere on this planet.  Here are three of them.
5x5 Page Background GIF Image
•15x5 Page Background GIF ImageIn 1989, in The Ravings of a Mad Man, I developed the only existing useful definition of political rights.  In that essay, I used the term common rights instead of the term political rights, but either term will do.
15x5 Page Background GIF ImageA right (or a common right) is something that's within your ability, for which you don't need permission, and that will be generally or customarily approved or at least tolerated.
15x5 Page Background GIF ImageThat definition is the only useful one in existence because it's a definition, not a list, because it doesn't confuse rights with privileges or entitlements, and because it's the only definition that's general, concise, and unambiguous.  The essay is available in Pharos.
•15x5 Page Background GIF ImageIn 1990, while I was writing my essay The Long and Winding Doctrine:  Social Contract, I discovered the only necessary and sufficient defining principle of lawful government.
15x5 Page Background GIF ImageThe legitimate boundaries of lawful government are not geographical.  They are contractual.